2020 Individual Collegiate Award Winners

Pi Beta Phi recognizes chapters, clubs and individual members for their excellence in various aspects of Pi Phi life. Every year, we celebrate and honor Pi Phis for contributing to their communities and the Fraternity. Congratulations to our 2020 Individual Collegiate Award Winners!

Amy Burnham Onken Award

Georgia Kralovich, Ohio Lambda

Georgia’s passion for learning can be seen through her work as an undergraduate research assistant studying inflammatory processes in the lung at the University of Michigan and her co-authored publication in the Journal of Clinical Investigation Insight. In addition to her academic accomplishments, Georgia also served as Chapter President for the Ohio Lambda Chapter and an orientation leader at Case Western Reserve University where she acted as a mentor for first-year students and supported them during their transition to college.

Carol Inge Warren Award for Outstanding AAC Advisor

Ruth-Ann Roberts, Iowa Beta

Over the past few years, New Jersey Alpha Alumnae Advisory Committee Chair Ruth-Ann has helmed the challenge of reinstating procedures and rituals the chapter had previously neglected and re-engaging chapter members with Pi Phi sisterhood. Past Chapter President, Alexa Underwood, says "Her commitment and devotion to Pi Phi and improving our chapter has not wavered. From taking my stressful calls to actively providing guidance, advice and suggestions, she has always gone above and beyond."

Chapter Service Award

Isabella Esparza, Louisiana Beta

As Chapter President during a challenging year, Isabella focused on addressing transparency and chapter morale by requesting ongoing feedback from members and addressing concerns and suggestions. An overwhelming number of members agreed that the chapter's sisterhood was at an all-time high and that they had received a premier Pi Phi experience despite the pandemic. Throughout the year, Isabella pushed the chapter to remain engaged and connected through activities such as virtual book clubs, Netflix movie nights, guest speakers and exercise classes.

Morgan Walthall, Texas Epsilon

Morgan served on Texas Epsilon’s Executive Council for three years as Vice President Administration, Vice President Operations and Chapter President. Morgan was motivated to help lead the chapter to success by mentoring upcoming leaders and sharing her experiences with other chapter members. In 2020, she took the lead on creating virtual sisterhoods and finding ways to make virtual meetings engaging such as a virtual chapter discussion on mental health and a Guardian Angel program to provide needed sisterly support.

Jean Wirths Scott Leadership Award

Samantha Gildea, Florida Delta

As Vice President of Housing, Samantha ensured members felt included and comfortable in the chapter house through DiversiPhi – a diversity, equity and inclusion committee which focused on mental health, race, women's empowerment, lingual inclusion, ableism and LGBTQIA+ inclusion. During Summer 2020, sorority women across the University of Florida reached out to Samantha soliciting advice about creating a DEI program in their chapters. Because of her work, the university’s Panhellenic Council allowed Samantha to create and lead its first-ever DEI position.

Silver Slipper Award

Allison Powell, South Carolina Alpha

As Vice President Finance/Housing, Allie introduced “transaction of the week” – a presentation during chapter meetings which provided transparency on what member dues support. At the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, Allie worked with the University of South Carolina, Greekbill and other key stakeholders to issue refunds despite facing challenges. With the help of her Alumnae Advisory Committee and regional team, she revised the Fall 2020 budget, adjusting for COVID-19 protocol, and created a SquareSpace account to assist with virtual fundraising.

Published June 8, 2021