national panhellenic conference

Pi Beta Phi is a founding member of The National Panhellenic Conference (NPC). Read about our long history together and learn about Pi Beta Phi members who helped shape the fraternity and sorority world.

What is The National Panhellenic Conference?

The National Panhellenic Conference (NPC) is an organization composed of 26 inter/national Greek-letter women’s fraternities and sororities. Each member organization is an autonomous social group consisting of women who are college and university undergraduates and alumnae.

NPC is one of the oldest and largest women’s membership organizations representing more than 4 million women at 655 college/university campuses and 4,500 local alumnae chapters in the U.S. and Canada. Each year, NPC-affiliated collegians and alumnae donate more than $5 million to worthy causes, provide $2.8 million in scholarships to women and volunteer 500,000 hours in their communities.

Why does NPC Exist?

The National Panhellenic Conference was established to assist collegiate and alumnae chapters of its member organizations to cooperate with colleges and universities and foster interfraternal relationships.

The National Panhellenic Conference is the premier advocacy and support organization for the advancement of the sorority experience. To view the “What Is NPC?” video on YouTube, please click here.

How did NPC Begin?

Pi Beta Phi is a founding member of NPC.

T1596-1913-npc-lunch_preview.jpghe National Panhellenic Conference evolved gradually through a cooperative spirit among women’s fraternities. As early as 1891, Kappa Kappa Gamma invited eight Greek-letter women’s collegiate fraternities to a meeting in Boston. It was chaired by Lucy Evelyn Wight, Kappa Kappa Gamma, and the delegate from Pi Beta Phi was Grand President Emma Harper Turner. There was much discussion, and many proposals, but ultimately, nothing came of the meeting.

By 1902, it was obvious that some standards were needed; therefore, Alpha Phi
invited Pi Beta Phi, Kappa Alpha Theta, Kappa Kappa Gamma, Delta Gamma,
Gamma Phi Beta, Delta Delta Delta, Alpha Chi Omega and Chi Omega to a conference in Chicago on May 24. Although Alpha Chi Omega and Chi Omega were not able to send delegates to this meeting, the session resulted in the organization of the first interfraternity association and the first intergroup organization on college campuses.

(Above) Photo of 1913 NPC luncheon.

Pi Beta Phi’s NPC Delegation

The Pi Beta Phi National Panhellenic Conference Delegation is comprised of one delegate and three alternate delegates. Each member of the Pi Beta Phi Delegation provides support to a specific collegiate region.

Delegates through the years (chairwomen are in bold)

  • 1902–1906: Grand President Elizabeth Gamble, Colorado Alpha
  • 1907: Grand Secretary Elda Smith, Illinois Epsilon
  • 1908: Anna Lytle Tannahill, Nebraska Beta
  • 1909: Grand President May Lansfield Keller, Maryland Alpha
  • 1910: Grand Secretary Elda Smith, Illinois Epsilon9753-NPC_preview.jpg
  • 1911: Grand President May Lansfield Keller, Maryland Alpha
  • 1912–1915: Lida Burkhard Lardner, Colorado Beta
  • 1917–1923: Grand President and Grand President Emerita May Lansfield Keller,
    Maryland Alpha
  • 1926: Grand Secretary Francese Evans Ives, Louisiana Alpha
  • 1928–1953: Grand President Amy Burnham Onken, Illinois Epsilon, served as Delegate
    in addition to other offices
    • 1943 Treasurer
    • 1945 Secretary
    • 1947 Chair
  • 1955–1961: Grand President Marianne Reid Wild, Kansas Alpha
  • 1963–1967: Dorothy Weaver Morgan, Nebraska Beta
  • 1969–1973 Helen Boucher Dix, Ohio Beta
  • 1975: Julie Pratt Mendenhall (Simmons), Indiana Zeta
  • 1977: Lucile Johannesen Roca, Arizona Alpha
  • 1979: Nancy Blaicher Pollock, Wisconsin Beta
  • 1981–1983: Annette Mitchell Mills, Alabama Alpha7020-1993-NPC_preview.jpg
  • 1985–2001: Jean Wirths Scott, Pennsylvania Beta, served as Delegate in addition to other offices
    • 1993 Treasurer
    • 1995 Secretary
    • 1997 Chair
  • 2003–2011: Carol Inge Warren, North Carolina Beta
  • 2013: Linda Noel Ibsen, Colorado Beta
  • 2015–2019: Ana Mancebo Miller, Texas Beta
  • 2019–2021: Marla Neelly Wulf, Kansas Beta
  • 2021-Present: Lisa Gamel Scott, Colorado Alpha

(Above) Pi Phi's delegation to the 1993 National Panhellenic Conference
included Kay Zook, Carolyn Lesh, Virginia Fry, Ann Brookshire,
 Jo Ann Roderick, Jennifer Barcus, Barbara Van Luven and Jean Scott. 

Recent Honors

At the 2015 NPC Annual Meeting, North Carolina Beta Carol Warren received the Distinguished Service Award. This prestigious award recognizes an individual who has given outstanding service to the fraternity and sorority community.

Sources: NPC Manual of Information 2018, Pi Beta Phi Fraternity Heritage Manual

Leading with values

Pi Phi's collegiate and alumnae programming is designed to promote friendship, develop women of intellect and integrity, cultivate leadership potential and enrich lives through community service.

Learn More